### THE PEOPLE'S VOICE SOCIETY: NEW DELHI

Tel: 011-25846484 46 South Patel Nagar Market Fax: 011-25841318 New Delhi 110 008

Email: admin@thepeoplesvoice.in

## Minutes of the Meeting of Executive Committee held on 20 November 2010 at Chelmsford Club, Raisina Road, New Delhi

#### Present

Mr Ajay Suri ... In the Chair

(President)

Mr C V S Juneja ... Vice President Mr Prithvi Manaktala ... General Secretary

Mr Nirmal Suri ... Treasurer
Mr Darshan Bhat ... Member
Mr Manish Pahuja ... Member

Leave of Absence

Mr Rajeev Chopra

Leave of absence was granted to those who could not make it.

The President Mr Ajay Suri welcomed members to the meeting. He extended a special welcome to Mr Manish Pahuja who had joined the meeting for the first time. The agenda items were then take up for discussion.

#### 1 Confirmation of Minutes

The Committee confirmed the minutes of its meeting held on 1 October 2010 which were e-mailed to members on 7 October 2010.

### 2 Review of the Interactive Session held on 16 October 2010

The Committee had a review of the Interactive Session held on 16 October 2010 at Chelmsford Club. Mr Darshan Bhat gave a brief report on the feedback received from the participants through the questionnaire circulated at the Interactive Session. It was suggested that the Society while thanking the participants, should keep contact with them. The Committee also discussed on how to go about in organizing such interactions in the future. After deliberations it was decided that besides working on the project on MLAs' Local Area Development Fund, the Society would also continue to organize programmes on "What Can We Do" in collaboration with Mission Convergence or Rotary Club and the next such programme could be organized in December with Rotary. Mr Nirmal Suri assured to extend his support in contacting with the Rotary. Mr Darshan Bhat was requested to coordinate and chalk out the programme.

### 3 Plan of contacting MLAs in connection with the Society's project on Local Area Development Fund

The President informed that in the first phase it was proposed to call on the MLAs of the Constituencies falling in the area of New Delhi Parliamentary Constituency. It was proposed that a delegation led by the President would call on each MLA after getting appointment and would apprise them (verbally / through slide presentation) of the objective and mission of TPV of this project and ultimately its benefits accruing to them. It was informed that the communications in this regard would soon be sent to the MLAs and the matter would be followed up.

## 4 <u>Upgradation of the website, preparing slides for presentations at appropriate meets and</u> to bring out a newsletter of the Society

The Committee deliberated the above matters in details. With regard to upgradation of the Society's website, Mr Manish Pahuja suggested for usage of Facebook and quoted the examples of some other organizations. This would attract the attention of more people who would like to be associated and thus enlarge the base of the Society. Members also emphasized the need of publishing/circulation of a newsletter to members and others highlighting the activities of the Society. Members also suggested for preparing a one line mission statement which could cover the aspects of objectives of the Society.

The Committee decided that the group headed by the Vice President Mr C V S Juneja and comprising of Mr Manish Pahuja and Mr Darshan should coordinate and work on the above issues.

### 5 Suggestion received from a member on Science of Yoga

One of the members of the Society, Mr Rahul Rastogi, had approached and sought the support of TPV in propagating the message of practicing the Yoga amongst the people at large and particularly pursuing the matter with the concerned Government authorities for its inclusion as a subject in the curriculum of schools/educational institutes.

After a brief discussion on the subject, it was decided that Mr Rastogi should be asked to submit a note on what sort of assistance he was seeking from the Society and upon receipt of his response the matter would discussed and action taken up by the Committee appropriately.

### 6 Enrolment of New Members

The Committee approved enrolment of the following as members of the Society with immediate effect in categories mentioned for each:

1	Ms Susan Kolady		Ordinary Category
2	Mr Sanjay Bhardwaj		Ordinary Category
3	Mr Subhash Sachdev	•••	Associate Category

In the case of Ms Susan Kolady, the Committee waived off her admission fee keeping in view the significant contribution made by her in the organization of events of the Society.

# 7 Response of Executive Committee Members on lack of participation / non-payment of contribution

As per the decision take at the previous meeting, the General Secretary Mr Prithvi Manaktala had sent communications to Mr Rajeev Chopra and Dr (Col) Vipin Khera (Retd), both members of the Executive Committee about the lack of participation / non-payment of contribution and asking for their response in the matter. Briefing the Committee, Mr Manaktala informed that while Mr Rajeev Chopra has conveyed his apologies for his absence from the meetings due to his busy schedules which may remain for a few months, there has been no response from Dr (Col) Vipin Khera (Retd).

The Committee decided that name of Dr Khera be removed from the membership/ register of the Society. In the case of Mr Rajeev Chopra it was decided to grant him the leave of absence from the meetings up to 31<sup>st</sup> March 2011.

### 8 Additional Items

The Vice President emphasized the need for compilation / updating of rules and regulations and Memorandum & Articles of Association of the Society and maintaining of updated Register of Members with all relevant details. It was further suggested that the date of enrolment of a member should be recorded as the date of approval of admission by the Executive Committee. The Committee also suggested and approved the printing of receipt books.

There being no other item for discussion, the meeting closed with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Prithvi Manaktala) General Secretary (Ajay Suri) President

20 November 2010 New Delhi

To:

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE